Part 6 – Users

Grape supports an unlimited number of user accounts and multiple user account types. Each user account can be customized to suite each user's role by utilizing the built-in privilege options. The user types function in a hierarchical manner, allowing you to designate multiple administrators to oversee other users. To access the Users Manager click the "Users" tab located in the main navigation set.

Index

From the Users Index you can search, sort, filter, and perform bulk operations on users. At the top left of the Users Index page you'll find a keyword quick search box. For advanced search options and filters click the cog icon located on the right side of the search box.

Add

To add a new user, click the green "+ User" button on the Users Index page.

There are several fields that are required to add a user. When selecting the "User type" keep in mind the hierarchy of the other users in your system. Each user type will be able to manage the user types below them.

You can upload an image or avatar for the user if you'd like. PNG, JPG, and GIF files are supported. Your image will be resized automatically but to reduce the time necessary to upload and process it we recommend uploading a file no larger than 1280px wide.

Each action in the Grape Administrator Control Panel requires specific privileges in order to access and execute the action. You can control what areas of Grape each user can access and what actions he can execute using the privilege controls provided. Certain privileges are dependent on other privileges being granted and will be noted in as such.

Details

The User Details page gives you a full view of all the information available for a location. From this page you can access additional tools for managing each user.

Edit

If at any time you need to change the information for a user you can do so by clicking the "Edit" button at the top of the User Details page, or by clicking the "Edit" link on the Users Index page. The Edit User page is virtually identical to the Add User page. Once you have made your changes be sure to click the "Save Changes" button at the bottom of the page to store the updated information in the database.

Purge

You can use the "Purge" feature to quickly delete all of the listings assigned to a user. From the User Details page, click the "Purge" link. You will be prompted to confirm your request. Click the "Continue" button and all of the user's listings will be moved to the Trash.

The "Purge" link will only be visible if the user has active listings assigned to him.

Transfer

The "Transfer" feature allows you to quickly reassign all of the listings assigned to a user, to another user. From the User Details page, click the "Transfer" link. On the "Transfer Listings" page you will be prompted to select a user to transfer the listings to. Select a user from the "Transfer listings to" select box and click the "Continue" button.

Delete

To delete a user and all of the listings assigned to him, click the "Delete" button on the User Details page. You will be prompted to confirm your request. Click the "Continue" button and the user and all of the user's listings will be moved to the trash.

Trash

Deleted users are located in the Users Trash. To access the Users Trash, click the "Trash" button at the top of the Users Index page.

From the Users Trash page you can recover deleted users by either clicking the "Recover" link to the right of the user that you want to recover or by using the checkboxes to select multiple users and then selecting "Recover the selected users" from the "Advanced options" select box. Both methods will prompt you to confirm your request.

Recovering a user will not recover any listings that were deleted along with the user. Those listings must be recovered from the Listings Trash.

To permanently remove users from your system, click the "Empty" button at the top of the Users Trash page. You will be prompted to confirm your request. Clicking the "Continue" button will permanently delete the users in the Trash and any images associated with those users. This action cannot be undone.